Review // L.A Girl // Peach corrector

During summer I made a sun smart faux pas and went snorkeling without proper sun protection around my eyes. I was wearing SPF 50 on my face, but obviously I didn’t put it near my eyes because you aren’t meant to (right?) and because I was wearing the snorkel mask I didn’t have sunglasses on. Meaning I now have sun damage under my eyes. I thought it was fading, until the other day when my husband asked if I have bruises under my eyes. Crying face! Even with concealer the pigmentation shows through and my under eyes look almost..well..bruised.Β IMG_6250Candid holiday shot! You can see it looks like little smudges or bruises under my eyes
IMG_9377
I decided to try out a colour corrector, and Life pharmacy happen to have the L.A girl concealers half price the other day, Β so I swooped on the peach shade. For anyone who doesn’t know about colour correcting, here’s the main gist of it:
Blue/Purple (aka dark circles) can be corrected by peach/orange/red depending on your skin tone
Red (aka pimples,acne,severe redness) can be corrected by green
Yellow (aka sallow dull skin) can be brightened with purple
IMG_9375
The idea behind colour correcting is to neutralize the pigmentation, before applying your normal foundation/concealer so that what you are trying to cover doesn’t show through. It’s most commonly done with colour correcting concealers, and most makeup brands have jumped on the bandwagon so they are easy to find now.
My sun damage isn’t specifically purple or blue but it is dark.IMG_9379
Now, clearly you don’t want a colourful clown face, so it’s important to go easy with a thin layer and blend out really well. I like to use a small brush to pinpoint the area of concern, then a medium to full coverage concealer over top to make sure the colour corrector doesn’t show through either.
IMG_9271
The formula of this concealer is incredible given that it retails at round NZ$12. It blends out effortlessly and has just the right amount of colour. It really did help to cover the pigmentation and brighten the under eye area alongside my normal concealer.
This is an untouched photo, and I think the under eye looks flawless, so it’s a yes from me!
claire xo
4 comments

    • I know right, don’t know how it took me so long to get on the bandwagon! These concealers are as good as everyone says! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

