Review // Tarte blush wheel

Occasionally I come across beauty products that I feel I absolutely must have. When I saw the Tarte blush wheel for the first time, I knew it would be a great addition to my kit. Having a range of shades all in one compact to suit every skin tone, and in a formula that people rave about, was a no brainer. Considering Tarte‘s normal pricing, I was so surprised to see a NZ $83 price tag. Their full size amazonian clay blushes are around $49 each so getting 10 for this price is amazing. This also happens to be my first Tarte product so I was super excited to see what all the fuss is about.img_6550
The packaging is really pretty with it’s eye catching purple print and gold casing. It has a click close and is nice and lightweight fitting easily into the palm of your hand. Each shade has the name printed below it on the case, and with having this many colours to choose from it makes it easier to remember your favourites! img_6562
When I first looked at it on the website, I thought it was 10 blushes. It’s actually 8, with 2 highlights. 8 blush shades is still pretty extreme, so the fact that you get the addition of 2 highlights as well is pretty cool.img_6575The shades on the base of the palette are defiantly my preferred colours. They are more on the subtle side as opposed to the top of the palette which are brighter shades. Concept is my favourite shade in the palette. It’s a nude salmon colour with a tiny bit of sheen to it, and is a ‘I’m not wearing any blush’ kind of colour. The other blush colours on the base are all matte, and are in the dusty rose/mauve family.
img_6559
The shades on the top of the palette are pink/peach tones and are a lot brighter. This side also has one sheen shade, culture, which is a beautiful peach with gold flecks through it, and the rest are matte. The blush shades are soft in texture with very even pigment. I find I just need to dip my brush into the colour and the payoff is perfect so this will last a long time!img_6560Ok, now for the highlights. Unfortunately these are a bit of a miss for me. I wanted to like them so bad as the convenience is almost too much handle, but they just don’t show up on my skin very well, and frankly if you are going to wear highlight you want a little beam, right? The texture is quite stiff, and even when I keep adding it just doesn’t glow! These are better as blush toppers to add sheen.Β img_6910

Overall I think this palette is worth the money, and it’s actually really good value for the quality of product you get. I love that they have catered to lots of different skin tones, and have managed to keep the consistency in each blush the same which can be hit and miss in palettes. It’s been a great addition to my kit, plus it’s pretty compact so doesn’t take up too much space like singles. This was a super popular limited edition palette, so if you can still find it anywhere, grab it!

claire xo

 

2 comments

  1. I am dying to try this out! I have one tarte blush in the showstopper palette but the shade isn’t quite right for me! This is stunning πŸ’•βœ¨

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

