Review // Fudge // Violet toning shampoo

If you have ever gone from brunette to blonde, you will understand the struggle of walking into the hairdressers expecting to come out blonde bombshell, but really coming out ginger Annie. I’ve lost count how many times I have professed to all my friends what I am planning, then rocking up after with a droopy lip feeling disappointed. I recently had my usual balayage colour done, and although I said ashy blonde to the hairdresser, it didn’t happen. I won’t go on a rant, but I will say, if you ever find a good hairdresser, follow them. Follow them to the other side of the world if you have to, because good stylists are hard to find. Moving on! It’s time for my friend purple shampoo to step in and save the day.IMG_4069I started using this product after a friend recommended it. The brand is called Fudge, and it’s a violet toning shampoo which counteracts brassy tones. Although it’s a shampoo, you want to leave it in for the directed amount of time (5 minutes) or if like me you want the brassy tones to die a horrible death, 10-15 minutes. Because I leave it in longer than directed, I generally wet my hair under the faucet so it’s damp, then apply the shampoo so I’m not standing in the shower waiting for 15 minutes. Generally speaking, you only need to focus the product on the areas that require it, but for me that’s mid to end lengths, and I still need to wash my roots so I use it all over then clip my hair up. As a side note, I am very picky with shampoo,( I explain why in this post here..) This Fudge shampoo is really good, it doesn’t irritate my scalp, and it nourishes the hair with Guarana so it always feels nice and looks shiny afterwards.

BEFOREIMG_4113Keep in mind, it is a purple shampoo, like, PURPLE. Don’t mess about with this stuff, it can stain your hands and anything else it comes in to contact with, so don’t be flicking it around your bathroom unless you are OK with a purple polka dot room. Make sure to wash it out really well, then use conditioner as normal.

AFTER 3  WASHESimg_4666

I love before and after pictures, and this one gives me so much satisfaction. This stuff honestly does work. It’s not going to take all the brassy tones out in one hit, but with continuous use the magic happens. You get a generous 300ML tube, and it retails for around NZ$24.50, which I think is well worth the money to maintain a nice blonde colour..or kill brassy tones!

claire xo

2 comments

  1. I also love this shampoo, after trying so many that don’t perform I was blown away by how well this worked.
    Its sad that you haven’t yet found a colourist that you love and trust, don’t give up the hunt! In Auckland there is a chain called Hue that have amazing colourists!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh hi! 🙂 It’s so good right, I would never have thought an at home thing would work so well colour correcting! Thanks for the recommendation of Hue, might have to get a cheap flight up to Akld next time! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

