Review // Colour pop // Ultra matte+satin lip

Although I love make up, I don’t follow the crowd when it comes to purchasing. In fact more often than not, I’m late on the band wagon because I wait quietly to hear if it’s any good before spending my cash. Colour pop is a brand that has come catapulting into the spotlight as one of the coolest brands out. With more and more beauty guru’s collaborating with them to put out the next ‘cool girl’ product, there’s no escaping this brand, and for once, they are products us regular folk can afford.IMG_4102I had to see what all the hype was about, so picked up a few items to try out. I’ve had my eye on their matte lip products for a while, as they have heaps of amazing nude colours, particularly in the ‘greige’ (beige/grey) tones, which I have found difficult to find in most brands here. They go for US$6 a piece, which converts to about NZ$8, very reasonable considering the 3.2g size. I just about died at checkout, shipping to NZ is $25, so it’s worth doing a haul with friends.IMG_4099 The tube is glass, with a good quality doe foot applicator. All really well done considering the low price point. I picked up two of the Ultra satin lips, and one Ultra matte lip. Although they are different products, they are still very similar. The Ultra satin is more mousse like in texture, very similar to NYX soft matte lip creams. The Ultra matte is more liquidy so I need to be precise with application, as I can very quickly slip and over line. The pigmentation for both is impressive, and very opaque. The finishes are true to the names with the Ultra satin being slightly more comfortable to wear.

ULTRA SATIN LIP – point zero- the ultimate grey beigeIMG_4143As with any matte lip product, don’t put these anywhere near crusty lips. It will stick to the dry patches and look awful. I put a lip balm on and get my lips hydrated for as long as possible before applying. Most super matte lip products are just not going to be comfortable, that’s the nature of wearing something that dries down. I find this comfortable enough, and for a $6 product I can’t complain . If I press my lips together, there is a little stick, but the colour doesn’t patch off. It does transfer a little bit, but it doesn’t crack and chunk off like other products.

ULTRA SATIN LIP – Cozy – bright red/orangeIMG_4257Without eating and drinking, the colour stays really well. One layer is enough to get full colour, and it’s more comfortable with one. The colour range is frankly, awesome. They’ve got all the on trend colours you could want, and they definitely cater for all skin tones.

ULTRA MATTE LIP – Chi – pale nude beigeIMG_4217

What I love most about Colour pop products is the amazing quality, trend setting colours and affordable prices. They give everyone the ability to express themselves with products that are actually accessible, without having to spend exorbitant amounts of money. I’m officially on the band wagon, and I have more from this brand to share so stay tuned!

claire xo

 

6 comments

  1. I’m totally with you – quietly waiting for reviews to come out and see if anything is worth the hype before I get it! I loved the review so that’s for sharing it. I haven’t tried anything from this brand but I might have to because of the low price and good quality. I love that bright orange/ coral lippie by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love these shades, you’re stunning hun! I’m so jealous that you committed and took the plunge with the shipping. I just can’t seem to do it, I’m in the UK and forever drooling over these products…hoping one day they’ll somehow make their way over here lol! xx

    https://lexilife95.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thanks hun thats so nice! 🙂 I feel you on the shipping its so expensive to get anything to NZ haha definitely worth it though! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

