Review // Revlon Matte balm

Hi my name is Claire, and I am addicted to nudes. Nude lipsticks that is. I had a sudden realization the other day that my current lipstick collection consists of one red, one pink, a few vampy darks and…5,000 nudes. I went out to get a wearable berry colour to try and break the habit and this is what I chose.IMG_2283I purchased the Revlon Colour Burst Matte balm because they are currently $12.00 at Farmers compared to the usual $22.99, so it would have been a crime not to really. I’ll admit, the first colour I swatched was a nude, but I resisted the temptation and swatched a couple of berry shades. I ended up choosing 265 Fierce Redoutable, which is a beautiful red-ish/brown-ish/ brick colour. When these matte balms came out, I didn’t expect that they would be very pigmented. I swatched some of the colour burst stain ones a while back, and they seemed to be more sheer which I’m not really into. The Matte range however is like a lipstick in pigmentation, but intensely moisturizing. You can do one coat if you want a semi opaque look, or build it up for more intensity. IMG_2514The thing I most adore about this balm, is that it is the most comfortable matte I’ve ever worn. I’m tempted to call it satin finish, or semi matte because it doesn’t dry down completely, which is no doubt due to it’s balmy nature. The fear with matte lipsticks is the dreaded ‘ring’ you get around the inner of your mouth when it wears through the day, as well as flaking and cracking. This balm is superbly comfortable, and doesn’t have those problems. It can be wiped away through drinking and eating, but it’s easy to re-apply with it’s bullet shape and twist up style, so I don’t see that as a major. The lasting power is not as good as a matte lipstick, but for a balm it does bloody well. I found as it wore off, the colour just faded lighter.When you first apply it, it has a lovely minty feel and smell which I personally love. Farmers have 11 beautiful shades.

Overall, I feel the need to go back and get more colours. These balms are comfortable, pigmented, moisturizing and beautiful. If you have any kind of trouble with lipsticks normally, I would definitely recommend these as they seem to tick all the boxes.

claire xo

8 comments

  1. Love this review. I got one that’s like a gorgeous peachy colour but it only seems to apply to the edges of my lips and simply won’t stick to anywhere saliva has touched which isn’t ideal especially when dealing with pigment but you’ve convinced me to give it another go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

