Review // Nude by nature brushes

Make up brushes in New Zealand were just about as rare as a four leaf clover until recently. Morphe this, Sigma that, “I’m using my MAC..” blah blah blah. Ok, they are all amazing brushes, but getting them into our hot little hands here isn’t cheap or easy. Thankfully the make up gods have listened and provided us with the blessing of options!IMG_1842I picked up this Nude by nature brush set from Farmers, which retails for $44.95…for 7 brushes..unbelievable. That’s less than $6.50 a brush. And that’s the only math I like doing. IMG_1849The brushes come in this gorgeous little black case with a rose gold zipper to match the detailing on the brushes, can I hear you say on trend! It’s the perfect size for travel, and has handy little elastics to keep everything in place.IMG_1851In the set you get a lip brush, angled brush, eyeshadow brush, concealer brush, eye blending brush, powder brush and kabuki brush. They have the type written on the handle which I think is a great idea especially for beginners. The bristles are super soft, like, cat soft. It’s like applying your make up with a cat..oh wait no, that would be wierd..and dangerous. IMG_1855I love the powder brush for bronzing and contouring as it fits perfectly into the hollow of my cheekbones, and it’s the right amount of fluffiness to diffuse product nicely. This is such a versatile brush, you could use it for blush and any face powder. The Kabuki brush is pretty similar just a little more dense to really get a good colour build up.IMG_1865IMG_1869
I’ve been using the concealer brush for tidying up around my brows as it get the job done quick and tidy, without leaving streaks.I tried using it for my Maybelline colour tattoo eyeshadows, they were a little too firm for this brush, but anything a bit softer would work well I’m sure. The angled brush is a good size for brows or detailing with eyeshadow, but I prefer a much finer brush for winged liner.                IMG_1861IMG_1863

I’m pretty picky with my eye brushes. This eyeshadow brush is way bigger than the ones I own, so I have had a few mishaps with blowing my smokey eyes out too much and looking a little crazy. I reserve this as a CLEAN blending brush, rather than applying and blending. The eye blending brush is good for adding depth and colour to the crease or outer V of the eye and it’s quite firm, so you get good control, but I prefer a more fluffy brush for blending.                                                                                      IMG_1864IMG_1868

The lip brush is a versatile little thing, not only is it great for creating a sharp lip line, it’s also the perfect size for inner corner highlight, or adding fine details to eye make up, like loose pigments.                                                                           IMG_1862
Overall this brush set is amazing for the price. It’s a really good set for a beginner, or for those looking to add extra pieces to a collection. Perfect for handbag or travel too. The quality so far is as nice as brush sets I’ve paid 4 times the price for, very impressed!

claire xo

2 comments

  1. I recently picked these up too so I could have a little travel set of brushes I take to the gym before work, and I’m pretty impressed. I can’t quite manage a whole face with them, but the case is plenty big enough to throw a few more brushes in there. Great review, I enjoyed reading it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading Sarah, glad you liked it! 😊 I just took the set and case away for a trip and it was so good to throw all my brushes in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

