Review // Hask hair mask

I’m so envious of people with super shiny hair. When my hair was dark it was so much easier to get it looking shiny, now with lightened hair I’m just grateful if I have no split ends. Being a bit of a snob with hair care, it’s been a long time since I’ve used anything other than salon brands so I thought it was time I have a bit of a dabble and see if anything has changed at the drug store. IMG_1275Hair masks have never really done anything for me, but that’s probably because I set my expectations so high. I like to think when I wash a mask out my hair will be like disney princess level. Unreasonable?
This brand of mask, Hask, is sold at quite a few places including Kmart and Farmers, for around $5 a pop. The masks come in different oil options, I chose coconut of course. You get a generous amount of product and the scent is deliciously fruity. It reminded me of Raro juice actually (NZ girls, you know!). This amused me all day long, and I had a sudden craving for orange juice at lunch. The product itself does look like softened coconut oil, and did a good job of not dripping everywhere.
It says to apply to clean wet hair (I think they mean damp!) and leave for 10 minutes.
Now for the interesting part. Did it work? Kind of. It wasn’t disney princess level, lets just get that out of the way.
Initially when blow drying my hair, I did feel it left a small amount of coating on my hair. When I say coating, I mean that silicone type layer. I just blow dried without any styling product so I could see the true effect, and left it for the rest of the day. That night I straightened my hair, and I definitely noticed the coating still there. When I got up the next morning, there was LESS build up so it felt and looked a bit nicer. I didn’t see any noticeable change in shine which is disappointing, though not unexpected considering the price.

I think sometimes these products can have the illusion of making your hair look better temporarily, but in reality the ingredients have just slicked the hairs down. I wouldn’t use this product on a regular basis as I’m sure that would leave build up over time, however for occasional use it’s not bad.

I will continue my search for princess level hair masks!

claire xo

2 comments

Leave a Reply

