Review // Dry shampoo

Ain’t no livin’ without dry shampoo. It should be a staple in every womans (or long haired man’s) life. When I first heard about it, I was like, Huh? But when..do you..add the water? Β Now I’m like, get on my head, STAT.Β In case you haven’t used dry shampoo before, the idea is to spray it onto your roots to absorb oil, creating a freshly washed look. Sounds simple, but not all dry shampoo’s are created equally, so I have now found.

The key to a really good dry shampoo is first and foremost, oil absorbing. Other winning formulas have no white cast, no sticky feeling, and a good scent always goes down a treat.

IMG_1269

My first dry shampoo was the original formula Batiste in the scent blush, and it is still my favourite dry shampoo. It absorbs oil really well, and gives good volume at the root. It can leave a white cast if you spray too close, or spray too much, but that is easily fixed by working it in. It comes in a variety of scents which is a cute idea. Another bonus is the mini versions! I keep one in my handbag for freshening up during the day.

I recently purchased the Batiste smoothing and conditioning dry shampoo. When I bought it I didn’t realise the formula would be so different, and I have to say I’m not a fan. It definitely has a less dry feeling than the original, but that kind of defeats the purpose in my eyes. I love the original because it doesn’t feel like you have anything in your hair, whereas this one leaves a slight coating, and seems to make my hair more oily, not less! Boo! Will not re purchase.

I also have the Tony and Guy dry shampoo, which has a really nice fresh scent, and does a moderate job of absorbing oil. It’s not as good as the batiste original, and doesn’t give as much volume. It doesn’t have a white cast which is a huge plus especially for the brunette or dark haired babes. Price wise it retails for around the same price as batiste, about $15.

Basically dry shampoo is a secret weapon to help you look put together. If you sleep through alarms, forget about after work drinks, or can’t bare the thought of washing your hair more than once a week, meet your new best friend DRY SHAMPOO!!!

claire xo

6 comments

      • Ohh I see, I was surprised to read that it was the same price as Toni & Guy’s dry shampoo. I’m from Canada, so although Batiste is cheaper here, Toni & Guy products are much more expensive here as well.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

